Daily Prompt – Dodgeball Sports Fan

by mybiggestphan

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/daily-prompt-sports/

Date: 7/11
Prompt: Are you a sports fan? Tell us about fandom. If you’re not, tell us why not.

Answer: When it comes to sports, I’d consider myself a loyalist without any real loyalty. I’m from Massachusetts and there are a lot of avid sports fans and really high profiled sports teams in that area. New England Patriots, the Celtics, the Red Sox, Bruins! I am loyal to all four of those teams, day in and day out. However if you were to ask me what the current roster is on any of those teams, I couldn’t begin to tell you! Heck, I wouldn’t know 2-3 players on those teams! I’m loyal to the team by regional association and that’s it. I do not follow the teams throughout the season, only when they enter playoffs and/or really close to winning a championship. So I would say I wouldn’t call myself a true fan.

However, when it comes to playing sports, I am an avid advocate for them. I love playing any physical activity any chance I can get. I currently play in a dodgeball league and have been for about 3-4 years now. It is a strong passion of mine and although I wouldn’t say I am the greatest, I do have a blast on the court and getting a workout. If anyone is interested in joining dodgeball in Los Angeles, you should check out http://www.dodgeball4ever.com and http://www.wehododgeball.com. To be able to stay fit and healthy is a primary goal for me so this helps fulfill that. I’m willing to play other sports if the opportunity presents itself. I’ve been basketball leagues before and have the urge to play baseball for many years now but have not gotten to it.

In the end, whether you are a true fan of your sports team, just make sure you stay fit at all times. Not only is it fun but it builds team camaraderie and lifelong relationships that we can all benefit from.

