I Prayed Today

by mybiggestphan

I would consider myself more of a spiritual individual than a man of religion. Growing up, my parents, stemming from a Vietnamese household, seemed to be more focused on Confucian teachings rather than Buddhist ones. Granted, there were times that we would go to temples annually and we prayed to various deities and had shrines in our home, I, however, never felt the pressure to conform to the religion. I had the freedom to believe in anything that I chose and that has made me into a very diverse individual and I believe, accepting one.

I’ve been interested in the Christian faith for a while now. Is it ironic that I know more about the Christian religion than I do about the Buddhist one. I think the media exposed me so much to the various epics such as Noah’s Ark, Adam & Eve, Moses, etc. Unfortunately, my conception of Christianity as one that ostracizes certain groups of individuals has made me a bit more hesitant to join, but at the beginning of this year, someone left a Bible on my work desk (someone who knew I’ve been wanting to get a Bible for quite some time) and I’m hoping to read it sometime over the course of the year.

But back to my initial posting. Today, I prayed. I prayed to both God and Buddha, because to me, they are one. I do believe there is a higher being and I wanted them to know my thoughts this morning. I wanted to thank them for the tremendous gift that they have given me; the gift of Life. I have learned throughout 2013 about something called gratitude and I have never realized how much I took my life for granted. There are so many things in this life of mine that I am grateful and it is because of them as well as my own personal actions that I have been able to live the life I choose. They have provided me with so many opportunities to excel and I am eternally grateful for it.

I find it cliche but in my prayers, I couldn’t help but compare my life to those who are less fortunate. I told God and Buddha the reasons why I am grateful; that I have a home. The fact I am able to type this post on my computer. My friends and family. And at the same time, I kept at the back of my mind, my respect for those on this planet who do not have those things and I couldn’t help but feel a little bit sad. It allowed me to really focus on myself as a human being and made me reorganize my priorities.

If you are feeling sad and disappointed (which ironically I did late last night), take a moment to pray and re-evaluate your life. Really think about what you have been given, and it’s just amazing to see what you can come up with. I prayed like 15 minutes ago and throughout this post, I have been smiling, sent a text to a friend saying I love them, and just feeling very happy overall. Have an amazing day friends.

