A Letter to Myself in 5 Years

by mybiggestphan

I was going about my daily routine of reading blogs from different writers on the web and I stumbled upon Celestine Chua’s Post on LifeHacker

(42 Practical Ways To Improve Yourself).

Most of the practices that she mentions are things that I do on a regular basis and all of which I wholeheartedly agree. But one of the things she listed was to Write a Letter to your future self and I found that to be such a grand idea. I wish I had letters from my life a couple years ago and see where my mindset was at the time and how it compared to now. Who I was 5 years ago is completely different from the life I live now and I wish that I had some record of it. That said, I went about writing the letter and found it a valuable experience and encourage all of my readers to do the same.

I’m not going to write about the specific contents of that letter but goals, dreams, and advice to my future self played a huge role. I hope that when I open the letter in June of 2019, I will have accomplished all of my main goals that I had laid out in the letter. I will mail the letter out via USPS to my business address and have it kept there until a couple years down the road. I can’t wait to see my progress. Here’s a picture of me with the drafted letter. Take part and in the challenge and see where it takes you!

IMG_1424